Daily Archives: June 19, 2016

What I Learned About God from My Daddy

If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

-Matthew 7:11


Daddy,

You taught me about God

not only in Sunday School

or evening devotionals

but also about who you are

What a father should be like

I learned about my Heavenly Father

from you, my earthly father

***

I see and learn patience from you

When you taught me how to read

the kind tone of voice you used

when I was sounding out the words

“A Fly Went By”

I also learn about God’s patience

in shaping His children to grow in their faith

***

I see and learn the value of quality work from you

I see you do your best in all you do

and you expect me to do the same

so I do my best in all I do

One day you asked me to clean the barn

I cleaned it extra well

and I learned the meaning of

“Well done, good and faithful servant!”

Oh, how I wanted to hear something like that from you

Oh, how I want to hear something like that from my Lord

***

I see and learn assertiveness from you

When I wanted something from a teacher or a peer

You said, “Ask, the worst they can say is no”

and that I will never get anything without asking

I learned what the Son of God was talking about in Matthew 7:7

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.”

***

I learn what prayer should be like with my Heavenly Father

At family dinners, we talk about our day

and thank each other for what they do for us

and I ask for counsel or help in certain areas

whether that be a math problem or life situation

I know I can come to you

and I know I can come to my Lord in prayer

***

Most of all I see and learn about your love for me

the sacrifice

the joy when I succeed

the grace when I fall

the encouragement in all I do

the pride you have in me

From your love for me

I realize what love God must have for us all

for you and me

for all His children

***

Happy Father’s Day, Super-Daddy!

I love you

scotttwinsbox

My Super-Daddy and his twin daughters