Responsibility

Inspired by Langston Hughes’ poem “Theme for English B”

 

I like comic books, words, my twin sister, and hats

Superior Spider-man is my favorite superhero

This is true

This is surface

things I’d tell you when I first meet you

but this poem is about me

and not you

so let me continue

 

There are things we all try to hide

But we don’t aren’t

going to focus on that side

I have been given great power

Yes, listen to the arrogance in that

That I have a better life than others

That I have food and water and shelter

I know where I’m going to lay my head each night

I know how to read and write and do arithmetic

 

Yes, it is arrogant to say I have a better life

When in all actuality

That “great power” I spoke of

Should be a commonality

I cannot truly understand know the experiences of

those who do not share my security

But to them I do have a responsibility

to be the best that I can be

I have been entrusted with much

and much will be demanded of me

With great power

must also

Come great responsibility

 

I work and serve for that which endures

For indeed I have come to serve

To serve those that do not have what I have

Who do not have the hope I have

The hope I have placed on an old wooden Cross

Two thousand years ago

 

My greatest power

Is that of my Lord’s love and salvation

This is my motivation

This is true

This I will not hide

I will speak of this side

3 responses »

  1. We are such a blessed people!!! unforturnately, we take it all for granted, thanks for opening our eyes to the fact that even basic needs are a true blessing in the scheme of life.

    Like

  2. Pingback: More Than a Quote | Receive Grace 2 Show Grace

Leave a comment