What Matters Most

It’s finally summer

I’ve been laughing all day

and now I’m watching the sky turn amber

I’m so happy I could shout hurray

even though I know my sun burn

will hurt tomorrow

But tonight whether that warmth is a joyful glow or harmful sun rays, I can’t discern

I’m propped up on my elbow

talking the night away with all of you

about anything and everything

and who knows what will ensue?

I listen and I remind myself of something,

These are the good old times

this is what matters and what matter most

Though others try to convince me otherwise, even ofttimes

They couldn’t be more wrong in the uttermost.

You, my dear friends

are life and make the destination all the more meaningful

True godsends

So thank you for your company and the day so beautiful.

campfire friends

Pexels

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

