Daily Archives: June 10, 2017

Life Actress Number One

I recently received 642 Tiny Things to Write About and I will try to post some of my responses to the prompts. Here is one: Describe something about your best friend that is often under-appreciated.


You and I have a running joke that you are “Life Actress Number One”

When life isn’t awesome

you don’t let it show

you entertain others with your lively stories

you encourage others with your joyful smile

you let others escape into a world of puns and clever comebacks

you tell others that the world and their lives will be okay

You put on a performance

and dance

and sing

and listen

and hug

and joke

for others,

without letting them see behind the movie screen.

Yet when life is a one-way street,

of only encouraging others,

who encourages you?

Who tells you that the world and your life is going to be okay?

Who gives you a hug?

Who listens to you?

Who smiles for you?

I will and I always will.

I am thankful that I am one of few lucky people

who can see behind the silver screen

who you can tell your crazy life to

who you can trust

who you do not have to entertain

(but I always like it) 🙂

I am thankful that

you are not an actress in our friendship

that we are unscripted.

friend-986159_960_720