Daily Archives: May 4, 2017

Sixty Years Older

I think that if my Grandma and I were the same age that we would be friends, maybe even best friends. She is sixty years older than me but I can just imagine either me going back to the 1950’s or her growing up now. I think when I would first meet her it would be that type of experience where you say to yourself, “I want her to be my friend”. She is playful and Christian and funny and clever and quirky and smart and noble and a tom boy and resilient and confident and joyful and faithful and trustworthy and optimistic and kind and a hard worker and brave and respectful and marches to her own drummer and easy to talk to and fun and thoughtful and always has a song in her heart and independent and positive.

She has all the qualities of a perfect friend and all the qualities of who I want to be.

Maybe I’ve been looking for a best friend who is just like my Grandma — and hopefully I know I’ve found her. But it would be nice to have more people like my Grandma at my school, or rather more in the world.

Maybe it’s unfortunate that my Grandma and I weren’t born in the same era or maybe it is perfect that way. I may not have her as my high school best friend but I have her as my role model who is only a phone call or a short car ride away. I would love to have her as my best friend but I love it even more to have her as my Grandma.

friend-986159_960_720

