I Am So Glad

I am so glad that I don’t have a friend who worries about having the in-style jeans,

but instead she has the seemingly out-of-style response of actually answering truthfully when asked “How are you?”

I am so glad that I don’t have a friend who is concerned about having blonde highlights in her hair,

but instead having the highlights of kindness, respect, love, and joy in her life.

I am so glad that I don’t have a friend who listens to the ‘dirty music’,

but instead jams out to Christian artists.

I am so glad that I don’t have a friend who constantly complains that “Life sucks”,

but instead she complains that too many people are ungrateful for how amazing life is here.

I am so glad that I don’t have a friend who is obsessed with money,

but instead she is obsessed with raising money for her charity 30 Famine for starving children.

I am so glad that I don’t have a friend who complains about school,

but instead makes me realize time and time again how I appreciate my education.

I am so glad that I don’t have a friend who is distracted by boys,

but instead knows what to focus on and unwilling to change her boundaries.

I am so glad that I don’t have a friend who goes ga-ga over Cure for Wellness

but instead geeks with me about The Lego Batman Movie.

I am so glad that I don’t have a friend who anxious about her make-up being top-notch

but instead cares about top-notch values.

I am so glad that I have you,

my best friend.

friend-986159_960_720

Pixabay/user:Mary_L

5 responses »

  1. I LOVE this!!! I feel like everyone needs a friend like yours. When I read this, I realized that instead of waiting around until I find a friend like yours, I should learn to appreciate the people in my life and learn to not take life for granted. I will then become a better person, and a better friend. I needed this, thank you so much for writing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is also wonderful when people like you notice the important characteristics of a person, and not the outward appearances. Sounds like you are both lucky to have each other.

    Like

  3. That is a great friend to have and you both are working to appreciate the little things in life as they really are the biggest things of all. You are both blessed to have eachother 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

