Singing Life

Since I was little I loved the songs at church that I could put motions to. Songs like “I Cry Out” or “On Christ’s Solid Rock I Stand”. The motions weren’t something that I learned but instead something that I did by choice.

I grew up with these songs and my motions to them. My sister and I on either side of our father acting out the words to the songs. Now it is not just us acting out the words but also my mother as well as my cousin and her boyfriend.

As Christians, when we sing songs in church we sometimes act like they are just words and not worship of the One who spoke the universe into existence. We act like they are just silly little diddies and not teachings and promises for our everyday lives.

This is why I think that acting out the words to the songs are important. The songs can be just as important as the sermon or any other part of the church service. I believe that every part of the worship service has a reason to be there.

In a self-centered society, Christians seem to take the stance that church services are for their own benefit. They are not, church services are for God’s benefit. We sing praises and thankfulness to God, and yes the songs get us in the right mood for the rest of the church service but that is not their entire purpose.

Acting out the words to the songs helps me internalize their meanings. When I sing “Make Me a Blessing” I want to confidently say that I will be a blessing. When I sing “Go Tell It on the Mountain” I want to confidently say that I will share the Good News. When I sing “Blessed Assurance” I want to confidently say that I have felt a bit of heaven.

Acting out the words to the songs can also help others. When my father, sister, and I acted out the words eventually other people caught on. Just think if we carried this message further: to act on God’s Word and to see it spread.

So I challenge you, the next time you hear a Christian song (whether at church or on the radio) try acting out the words in the song. This doesn’t have to be a big interpretive dance routine, just listen to the song with more than your ears. Try not only acting out the words during the song but also in your everyday life.


Come, let us sing for joy to the LORD; let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation.

-Psalm 95:1

christian-music1

2 responses »

  1. I can remember doing the motions to the songs as a little girl… “I’m in the Lord’s Army”, “Only a Boy named David”, “If you’re happy and you know it”… These songs and their motions will be with me all of my days. Thanks for the insight, and I also agree that every part of the service has it’s important parts. Each of those “old” Hymns can be a sermon in themselves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

