Exhaling Midterms

There is only so long that you can take in

before you must put out

Only so long that you can study

and relearn

and process

and read

and take notes

before you must let it all out,

a test isn’t good enough,

no, not at all.

Only so long that you can learn about life

before you must go out and live it.

I can only learn about the “Theories of Intelligence” for so long

before I must go and use my intelligence.

I can only learn about encryption of data for so long

before I must go and make something worth encrypting.

I can only learn about position, velocity, and acceleration for so long

before I must go and make my own motion in the world.

I can only use my “analytical/academic intelligence” for so long

before I must go and use my “creative intelligence”.

***

I love you, my AP classes

but during midterms

(rather more, anytime)

I need to make something

to have the input and learning seem worth it.

***

I need to exhale after weeks of inhaling.

Inhaling:

integrals

the Law of Universal Gravitation

the Vigenère cipher

literary devices

SAT vocabulary

the double approach-avoidance conflict.

I just exhaled this poem,

in a heaving, heavy, ugly breath

because I have been running a race

and the finish line is midterms.

***

Life should be like breathing,

not all inhaling

and not all exhaling

but a balance.

***

I feel like I can breath again

study

3 responses »

  1. I am glad that midterms are over. I’m quite sure that all of that inhaling helped you do well on your exams, but I am glad that now you can get back to more of a balance. Take time to enjoy your life right now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

