After Now

Why is it that I find your beauty

now, so enticing?

Why now, and not before?

Why is it that you were a mere commonality before,

but now, you are gloriously enrapturing,

heart-breaking and heart-warming

Have my eyes changed?

Have you changed?

Have you transformed from a single glance

to a forever – yet ever to short -of a gaze?

Or is it me?

***

There is a painting of a ship at sea

on my office wall

I have seen it everyday for as long as I can remember

but now, after all these years

do I finally realized how beautiful it is.

I finally appreciate it.

Why now, and not before?

I have read countless books about

sailors

boats

the sea

explorers and whalers

I have learned countless history lessons about events with sailors and boats

I have seen countless movies about the sea

I have read personal accounts concerning explorers and whalers

I have ridden the open waves with no land in sight

I have stared into that sinister, powerful, murky depth

and I have stared into those mystical, lapping, crashing ocean waves

In every sense I’ve been in that painting

but until now, it was just a painting,

but after now, it has its own life

own story

own tears to cry

own cheers to shout

own dead to bury

own lips to smile

own love to find

After now, it is not just something to look at

but something to be a part of

Why now, and not before

do I love you?

Because I finally understand you

and I know that I never truly can either

img_20161216_230908340-1

5 responses »

  1. There are many beautiful things in life just waiting to be noticed, sometimes we just have to stop what we are doing and just take in the scenery. BTW – I had that same picture in my room almost the entire time I was growing up!

    Like

  2. I love most of your postings, but I have to admit that some of them are over my head. This one is beautiful. You have a great way of expressing your thoughts.

    Like

  3. beautifully written and I agree, sometimes we look at things for people for that matter and never take the time to truly appreciate them for what/who they are. Good insight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

