What My Dog Wants

My dog normally likes to stay away from me, well except when there is food around. 🙂 It’s not that he doesn’t like me (well, I hope not) but he just prefers to be alone.

So when he comes into my room, I know that he wants something. Kind of a sad mentality that my dog can’t just want me, but wants something from me.

I’m not complaining about my dog, I do have a point.

When I go and find my dog and want to spend time with him or pet him, he usually tolerates me for a couple minutes then goes away.

I feel like too often we can be like my dog, except towards God. We only go to God when we want something and when God seeks us out, we tolerate Him and then say “I’ve done my Christian duty for the week, I can go and do my own thing now.”

For me when my dog doesn’t want me, it hurts but I know he is just moody. It adds to his charm. But think about how God must feel when we tolerate him or treat Him like an one-hour-duty on Sunday. He must feel like the computer techs at the store, you know the ones you only go to when your computer is all buggy and you are all grumpy. No one ever stops by the computer store techies just to say hello or that they are loved.

God, the Creator of the Universe, wants His creation to recognize Him, to look at His work and say thanks.

Jesus, our Savior and Redeemer from our sins, wants those He saved to love Him back. His death on the cross also says, “I love you, love me back”.

God, the divine writer of the Scriptures, put so much time and effort into the world around us, into the Bible, into other Christians and He is saying, “Look at all I did, spend some time with Me. I hold you in My hand, I protect you, spend some time with Me.”

But God is not some love-sick puppy chasing after humanity; however, God does chase us and He does love us. God’s love is so much deeper, so much fuller, so much greater than we can ever imagine. God will never forsake us, He is with us through thick and thin.

So go and spend some time with the Creator of the Universe. He created a personal telephone line just for you. Toll free. The line is never busy. You will never be put on hold. So pray and sing and meditate and read and praise and talk and stand in awe of God. Go and spend time with your Father Above, God Almighty, your Savior and Redeemer, you best friend. I guarantee that you will be glad you did.  Better yet, God guarantees it.


“But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” -Romans 5: 8

moody-hero

2 responses »

  1. There is so much truth in what you say. We owe everything to our God. We are especially mindful of His great love at this Holy Christmas Season when He sent His son to spend time away from the splendor of heaven, so that will be able to join them in eternity!

    Like

Leave a Reply

