Celebration of Nerd-dom

  • My sister and I watch Crash Course videos (condensed video notes for various academic subjects) for fun. Even to celebrate a no homework Thanksgiving break.
  • After studying for tests two weeks ahead of time and having no homework we find ourselves guilty studying for tests because good students study.
  • We start studying for final exams a month ahead of time so that we may have scheduled procrastination. And . . . we still end up studying more than the general honors student.
  • I turned in my final project four weeks early when other students didn’t even know there was a project assigned.
  • I asked for my english assigned reading  early so that I could pre-read it over Thanksgiving break.
  • My sister takes summer classes and test out of classes (because five AP classes during the school year isn’t enough!) 😉
  • My history teacher threatens the class that if they didn’t stay focused he would give us another review packet to complete. With twenty minutes until the end of class I went up to his desk and asked if the extra review packet would help me study. He looked around at the other students and whispered to me that there was no “extra review packet” he had just made an empty threat. So what he used as punishment, I asked for.
  • Last year my sister had four textbooks and she named them (Hugh, Otis, Kirk, and Fitz). This year she has no textbooks (okay, okay, maybe she took an AP Calculus textbook (with teacher permission). And bought an AP Psychology textbook just because we wanted it). Her  textbooks trained her well because she find herself walking down the hallway acting like she is carrying textbooks.
  • This past summer my sister and I decided to stay up after our parents had went to bed. So while I read comicbooks into the wee hours of morning, she read her government textbook. A test out of government class textbook.
  • In eighth grade, when it was time to hand in our Algebra I textbooks, my sister had me take pictures of her lovingly caressing her textbook. Wait, this isn’t a celebration of nerd-dom. This is just strange. This is just sad.

But what I do not know is if these “celebrations of nerd-dom” are signs of being a nerd or if they are what make me a nerd.

Note: We do have friends. No they are not imaginary or dead scientists or dead political figures.

Extra Note: Okay, okay. We have both. 🙂

 

barbie-1436476_960_720

Pixabay/user:ErikaWittlieb

2 responses »

  1. I LOVE my nerds! The world just might be a better place if we had more nerd AKA hard working people who take responsibility for themselves!

    Like

Leave a Reply

