Wonderment

My sister and I

were driving down the highway

and she pointed out the moon

and wow, what a moon

the rest of the way home

I couldn’t keep my eyes off of it

(don’t worry, Dad, I wasn’t driving)

Something so simple as the moon

then suddenly it grasps my attention

and holds it tight

captures it

until I don’t even think of leaving

The moon follows us,

night and day

seen and unseen

Always observing

sneaking a peak

from the dawn of man

until the last star winks out of the sky

The silent watcher in the heavens

Something that I see everyday

a commonplace in the daily grind

then somehow

it becomes the center of my attention

and I wish is the gaze upon its glory

It is in these few and fleeting moments

when wonderment is alive

and the rest of the world fades

Let us never take for granted

how wonderful our world

how wonderful God’s creation

truly is.

Go, wonder at the world.

 

Supermoon, September 28, 2015 (UTC), Osaka, Japan.

Supermoon, September 28, 2015 (UTC), Osaka, Japan.

3 responses »

  1. Beautiful! It is supposed to be quite spectacular tonight also, from what I heard. I guess that very early in the morning, between about 4:00 and 6:00 AM it should be at it’s best. If I miss this one I will have to wait 17 years for the next “super moon” which would take to 94 years of age. I hope that I will still care by then! Oops I think it will be 18 years which would mean I will be 95!

    Like

Leave a Reply

