Ready

School starts soon and

I’ve got everything ready.

All my binders are different colors

and the covers are decorated in pretty card-stock

that my mother bought me

and my name and class is written in purple pen

with a frame that is cut with those silly scissors whose blade’s are zig-zagged.

In a neat organized pile are my pictures for my locker

just waiting to be hung up.

I’ve had my first week,

not just day,

clothes picked out for three weeks now.

My backpack is something a boy scout should be proud of,

money, cold medicine and tissues, graphing calculator, extra lead, hair-tie and bobby pins, extra pencil erasers, stick-y-notes, mint, school ID

check.

A necklace that will go with any outfit in case if I am rushing in the morning

random things that only I will need,

a balloon, a magnet, a tennis ball

(even though I don’t play tennis)

I don’t have the kitchen sink,

but I do have hand sanitizer.

Last year I had four flashlights,

but I think I am okay with only one.

6 pencils, 4 highlighters, 3 colorful pens, 1 Sharpie

A 5oo page notebook that cost too much at Staples,

A Superman flash drive that my aunt bought me,

A birthday card in case if I forget it’s someone’s special day,

My calendar is all written out including what days are Final Exams,

Locker comb memorized and just in case saved in my phone,

Extra line paper

blank paper

coloring book paper

graph paper

. . . and yet somehow I am not prepared.

Me, the inside me,

I am not ready.

ready

3 responses »

  1. The better your summer vacation, the harder it is to be mentally ready to go back to the daily grind. Two ways to look at it: you can be sad for something ending, or, you can be happy for what you had. I like to be happy so I choose the latter.

    Like

  2. It sounds like you have been preparing all summer. I don’t know if you are allowed to have cold medicine in your backpack. You didn’t mention an epipen,or did I miss it?

    Like

  3. I too like to be “prepared” at all times, you hold a special place in my heart with your level of preparedness 🙂 you never know…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

