Old Friend

Old friend, I came to visit you a few days ago

I walked down the familiar, unforgotten halls

and I saw your face,

your smile,

to be exact.

We shared greeting of hugs and ‘Oh my, has it been long’

Pulled up chairs and chatted

Shared stories and excitedly dreamed of summer

Talked of theater and the future

Conversations vary from cultures to cranberries

Nothing is guarded,

nothing about my life is hidden away

I love how I am able to be so candid around you

I am open before you because of years

of smiles

and lessons,

conversations

and letters.

I am so glad we are friends,

old friend.

There is no one like you,

nor shall there ever be.

This,

right now,

is where I want to spend my time,

laughing, happy, content,

comforted by the words of my old friend.

I cannot imagine my life if we did not meet,

undoubtedly it would be worse.

I love how you know so much about me,

you know more than what I say,

but what I left unsaid,

and what I wish I could tell you.

You understand my pauses

and movements to express what cannot truly be put into words.

Thank you,

my dearest old friend.

Minutes climb up the walls

and soon it is time to leave.

We part ways with once again a hug

and you comment on how I am young, beautiful and happy,

every time.

Thank you,

my dearest old friend

for simply being yourself

and for every second we share

together.

 

friend-986159_960_720

Pixabay/user:Mary_L

2 responses »

  1. what a lucky person to have a friend like you. Many take their friends for granted, good for you to recognize this friendship while it is happening.

    Like

Leave a Reply

