When Not If

When not if I die,

I want the church parking lot to be lined with chocolate gold coins

because you never know what small token of happiness there is if you just look around

and it is always good if you have chocolate!

When not if I die,

I want the greeters to pass out two things beyond just hugs,

the first is Hawaiian Leis

because I am going to a much better place, so why not celebrate

and second, a pretty stationary for the “celebrators” to write some of their favorite things about me and give it back to my family to read at another time.

When not if I die,

I don’t care if I have a memorial service or a funeral, but if I have a funeral,

I want to wear a pretty, lively colored dress,

possibly, light green silk knee length dress or maybe sunset orange polyester three-quarter length sleeve dress,

but it needs to be colorful and cute, at whatever age.

When not if I die,

I want a little smile on my face,

neither Mona Lisa nor Jay Gatsby smile,

but one all my own,

knowing that where I am is better.

When not if I die,

I want daisies everywhere,

colorful, colorful, colorful daisies, not JUST white, but pinks and blues and many different hues.

When not if I die,

I want the minister to say what he or SHE normally says but also with a twist of me,

some favorite quotes of mine, the books I like to read, superpowered characters I rave about, Epeolatry, my best friend God, how alive I feel when I am with people.

When not if I die,

I want happy smiles and only tiny tears

for I am going to a much better place.

When not if I die,

I want pictures on a slideshow,

I want my words out on display,

I want memories of happy and sad times to be shared.

When not if I die,

I want, care not, to be remembered in the minds of many, but to be engraved in the hearts of those who count.

When not if I die,

I want the meal after to have pink whipped cream and happy music playing in the background.

When not if I die, which I am not planning on soon,

but if God says, so be it

whether it be by plane crash in a hurricane at age twenty-five or

dying of cancer at eighty-five

my service will be like no other.

 

When Not

3 responses »

  1. If we could all have our “druthers” I think we would all like to live a long life and then when the time comes, we would be happy to go to sleep one night and wake up in heaven. I like your idea of the send off that you would like.

    Like

  2. you have a very positive and uplifting attitude towards death and dying, very unlike most people. Having gone through someone’s dying process myself, I do understand your thought process and appreciate your insight into how you would like your service to be led. We Christians do have that Promise- not just Hope- of a much better life ahead. Those of us who love you just want to hold you a little bit tighter and longer 🙂

    Like

  3. I totally agree with you (although I don’t think I want to be in a dress!) – as Christians we are going to paradise and the people at the funeral should be very happy for us – sad to miss us, but happy we are moving on up into God’s kingdom. Make you a deal, let me get up there first and I’ll be waiting with a colorful party hat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

