Peace Like a Fire: A Villanelle

Peace is like a fire, hard to create and easy to extinguish

Love, hope, and joy are likely to happen, but peace is uncertain

But I’ll hold onto my piece of peace right now

 

Peace is when before my Almighty God I bow my knee

But life gets too overwhelming and my un-cried tears are as vast as the ocean

Peace is like a fire, hard to create and easy to extinguish

 

All I yearn for is equanimity

But thoughts become too large and my mind is swollen

But I’ll hold onto my piece of peace right now

 

I know peace when I play with my puppy

Or when I am surrounded by cello music I listen

Peace is like a fire, hard to create and easy to extinguish

 

Serenity comes to me when I am lost in my “bookie”

Peace comes to me when soft winter snow I see as far as the horizon

But I’ll hold onto my piece of peace right now

 

It is so hard to breathe when life gets so busy

But sometimes the small unexpected gives you a little oxygen

Peace is like a fire, hard to create and easy to extinguish

But I’ll hold onto my piece of peace right now

 

peace-1107538_960_720

Pixabay/user:Darelle

 


 

This was my first poem in NaPoWriMo, but my second time in the competition. I am hoping to not do it as vigorous as last year with fifty posts in one month but to fun with it. Enjoy a poem a day for the rest of the month! 🙂

 

2 responses »

  1. POWERFUL WORDS!!!! LOVED IT. sometimes we do need to take that moment, that time to enjoy of piece of peace, because it can be fleeting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

