Pedestal

Do not put me on a pedestal

Do not dare put me on a pedestal

It’s too high up in the air if when I fall

Clouds, birds, stars

are meant for way up and above the sky

People are not

We are meant to be grounded

To be able to look up

and down

We are meant to stare at a person’s face,

not their feet

Pedestals are small and high

oh so very high

high with the birds,

the things supposed to be hoped on

I’ve learned that

sometimes

it’s harder to carry everyone’s hopes, dreams, ambitions

than their burdens

Look at my face

My eyes

Do not put me on a pedestal

an oh so very high pedestal

Do not dare put me on a pedestal.

 

 

pedestal

N@ncyN@nce via Foter.com / CC BY

3 responses »

  1. Unfortunately too many people consider falling a bad thing – it is quite the opposite. There is a saying that you learn twice as much from a failure than a success! The only time it is bad is when you don’t get back up and try again.

    Like

  2. I agree. our measuring stick should be Jesus and no other, humans are just that, human and we should never put someone up on a pedestal, keep your eyes on Jesus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

