When Words are Overrated

I find sometimes that I need to create but without using words. Words are practically my life, forging imaginary worlds to communicating for daily needs, but sometimes words are overrated. Each word has a purpose, some way of furthering the message I am trying to get across, but I sometimes don’t know what I want. My mind is whirling too fast to grab the words in the air and transfer them to my fingers.

That’s why I take my time and create using scissors and glue. For Christmas I got “card making stuff” and I knew that I would be good at it, but it wasn’t like I woke up one day and wanted my new hobby to be card making. But I actually really enjoy it! πŸ™‚

I love patterns. I love seeing things go together and creating order. It is something that I have control over and make what I want. I take up my whole kitchen and spend hours folding and cutting and glueing and listening to music. It is something constructive to do while thinking and that often leading to writing.

So on Thursday, I started making cards and then got carried away with this idea. Below is a picture and a poem to follow. Enjoy!

 

IMG_20160128_195755

 

IMG_20160129_091620

Don’t let the world strip you bare

Don’t let all your leaves fall

Don’t let the pieces that make you you

wither away and die off

Everyone loves the fall colors

because they are different

Not because they are all the same

Even keep the leaves called

Death

Abuse

Depressed

Because they make you you also

Don’t let the world strip you bare.

3 responses »

  1. A creative mind knows no bounds other than the ones we put on it. The more we challenge ourselves, the more we grow. The more we grow, the bigger challenges we can take on. The bigger challenges we take on, the more we fall. The more we fall, the stronger we get – repeat. Nice card and poem!

    Like

Leave a Reply

