ON or OFF

It’s like I have an ON and Off button

Either I am full on and it just comes to me

Or I don’t feel like creating a single string of words

When I read I have no motivation to write whatsoever

Yes, I know that it is the opposite for most people

but I know the characters

I study the writer’s style

And creating my own words do not seem appealing to me

When I read a novel,

it’s like a forced writer’s block

But when I only write

I forgo all the exhilarating people

living in the pages tightly shoved on my bookshelf.

I started a book

and now reading is the only thing I want to do.

Not because it is so good

(which it is, I love the writing style!)

but because I have prolonged my thirst

for a person’s life played out in a few hundred pages

I look at the world and my thoughts around me

and have an urge to make sense of them

through words artfully created

But when my eyes absorb the words

of thoughts and emotions of characters

I look to them

and not my own

leaving me to have no need to sort through them.

Oh, the joys of books

but the heartbreaks of not writing!

It’s like I have an ON and Off button

Pixabay/Unsplash

Pixabay/Unsplash

2 responses »

  1. I am so happy to have come across your post, this was a really great read and an amazingly written post! I had a chance to look at your blog and it is awesome so keep it up so I can keep reading! (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

