It is Coming

It is coming.

It is coming and there is nothing I can do to stop it

Winter is coming.

I feel it’s icy finger tips reach inside my blanket at night.

Winter’s breath blowing harder making it harder and harder to eat lunch outside.

Men’s thoughts turn from swimming pools to snow fences.

Winter brings goosebumps making the trees loose their leaves.

At first they change color

but slowly they give up the ghost

and turn brown and wither away

Into long sleeves and sweaters.

My beloved flip-flops are soon to flip no more

and only have tennis shoes quietly roam.

Swarms of birds practice flying in my fields.

Pansies shrink and the last attempt at color,

Church Ladies put out Mums.

Snow has not fallen yet

but I can see it in Winter’s eye.

People mindlessly start humming Christmas tunes.

Ugly sweaters replace swim suits on store racks.

My fingers now have an cool feel chronically following them.

I feel winter in the air

and there is nothing I can do to stop it.

I stir my hot chocolate

and pull my worn-out blanket tighter.

Pixabay/jpeter2

Pixabay/jpeter2

2 responses »

  1. Ah, but for every bad thing also comes good (someone once told me that). What about Fires in the fireplace, getting all cozy in your favorite warm clothes, snow days, sledding, and cuddling (without sweating)! For every season there is reason to celebrate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

