Over Here

I am surrounded by life and energy

It is bursting through the walls

It echos down the halls

The group over there

is chatting and laughing

Talking of things did and done

I do not join in

They are over there

and I am over here

A clear separation

A hard line

A wall, impossible to climb over

But I made this separation

But I drew this hard line

But I built the wall

I am different

I am alone

But there is nothing wrong in that fact

Alone can be good

Alone can make people notice

Alone

makes me decide who I am

and what choices I make because of who I am

I do not join in on their type of fun

Because of a lack of a want

I forgo their folly

I am alone

But not quite lonely

Just feeling out of place

Needing someone to guide me

Feeling awkward because people stare

They notice

They see the difference

They see that I am different

I hold to a different standard

Not one of Earth

but of the Heavens

I am alone, yes

But I am alone with God

pixabay/mleonascimento0

pixabay/mleonascimento0

3 responses »

  1. Just remember that you do not need to be all in or none at all – you can be a dabble here and a dabble there, friends to everyone but not necessarily always participate in everything. Letting people see your light and be drawn to it, that is a beautiful thing that both you and others will benefit from, so make sure you don’t hide your light, because your light is beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

