Why Is it that I Smile at You?

Why is it that I like you

when I shutter at the rest?

Why is it that I smile at you

when I cringe at the rest?

Oh little butterflies

how beauteous and pampered you are.

Never being swat at

Never being shooed

Never having chemicals sprayed at you

Only ‘Oh look at the beautiful butterfly!’

You aren’t all that different from your kind,

yet I never see a deer-fly broach,

but I see butterfly broaches.

I would like to enjoy the others,

but I don’t.

I know I shouldn’t judge on the outside

but is there even an inside to judge

on bugs?

If I like butterflies only because

they are pretty,

Who are the butterflies in my life?

 tdlucas5000 / Foter / CC BY-SA

tdlucas5000 / Foter / CC BY-SA

One response »

Leave a Reply

