The Self- Control of a Speedster

Time

it moves so slowly

and yet so quickly

But for me normally the former

I don’t ‘harness the Speed Force’

I’m not one second ahead

I just run

like really really fast

Sometimes people forget how much I need to process

I still have the same speed of acknowledgement

I see

and have to make

less than a split second decision

But the people I care about

my team

my sister

are all

slow

I have to come down to their level

Life is just so much more

I live in weeks of their hour

I may seem impatient

but

they

are

just

so

slow

Super speed sounds

great

at first

but

something as simple as enjoying a sunset

or watching a movie

It’s unbearable!

Because I have to process things so much faster

I can’t stop myself

I do it all the time

Being  . . . fast

feels so good

and it’s so hard

not to give in

The self-control

to come down

– to slow down –

to their level

it’s maddening

That’s my real super power

Self-control

There is a down side

to every up

But there are more ups

because I can save lives.

Wikipedia

Wikipedia

5 responses »

  1. Its a gift but at the same time a curse. Super speed its by far my favorite superpower but i do see the down side to it. I think the Flash can control his speed better than Quicksilver thanks to the speed force do if i had the power i world probably want it too be connected to the speed force rather than the X- Gene. The speed force also helps with preventing environmental damages at such high velocities and allows the user top grab people at high speeds without killing them. Awesome job with the Poem!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

