Myself, My Enemy

Spider-man : Green Goblin

Superman : Lex Luthor

Professor X : Magneto

In comicbooks there is generally a definitive enemy -a world in black and white, but in real life the world seems to be colored in gray. Jesus calls for us to love our enemies (Matthew 5:44), but who/what is our enemy? The co-worker who purloins office material, the kid at school who just won’t stop talking, the nagging neighbor? Yet, these people are not your enemy, I mean you can not like them, but they aren’t your nemesis. An enemy is a person who is actively opposed or hostile to someone or something. Who or what is actively opposing you?

From the best and cleanest prospective we can say sin or the devil. While yes that is true, personal experiences and ideas hold more sway in each of our lives. Think deeper. Don’t be afraid to dig further and get your hands dirty because the only way to mold your life of clay is to get messy in it.

For the longest time I thought my own worst enemy was my fears; the Seven Nightmares that I would replay over and over again, but never lived through. Then I realized who created my fears? I did. I was my own worst enemy because I knew every little dirty secret and I could manipulate them in just the right way to break myself.

Enemy = self

There is a popular saying about how you can only trust yourself to get a job done – yourself being your closest ally, but how could I be my own enemy and ally at the same time?

Ally? = self?

God created me for His purpose, He sent His son to die for me because He loved me. Why would He make myself my own worst enemy? He didn’t. Through my Seven Nightmares I had relied on God, which grew my faith (check out Romans 5, really good!). I’m not my closest ally, God is and always will be. Only through my battles could our Alliance and Him being my refuge, grow stronger.

Ally = God

Back to the question of enemies, who is my enemy? Who is actively opposing me? My answer to that is Romans 8:31, “If God is for us, who can be against us?” If God is for us (which He is, I mean one word – Calvary) then sin, the devil, my Nightmares, myself is not my enemy, they are my training wheels. The tribulations of life make us stronger, and, boy, I’m thankful for them. Nothing can be against us when God is on our side; an enemy is someone or something against you. By definition, we have no true enemy.

Life may not be comicbook black and white but we know who our ally is – God – and we know who our enemy is.

Enemy = No one and nothing

One response »

Leave a Reply

