The Art of Math

We adore chaos because we love to produce order.

– M.C. Escher

The following mathematicians have as much to say about life and our world as they do about math. They both focus in the Geometry part of math; their quotes and art work will be shown.

M.C. Escher is a Dutch – some say mathematician and some say artist – who is famous for ‘eye catching’ prints.

escher hands

There has to be a certain enigma in it, which does not immediately catch the eye.

-M.C. Escher

Drawing is deception.

             -M.C. Escher

Order is repetition of units.

Chaos is multiplicity without rhythm.

-M.C. Escher

So let us then try to climb the mountain, not by stepping on what is below us, but to pull us up at what is above us, for my part at the stars; amen.

– M.C. Escher

print-gallery escher

He who wonders discovers that this in itself is wonder.

– M.C. Escher

Are you really sure that a floor can’t also be a ceiling?

-M.C. Escher

What I give form to in daylight is only one per cent of what I have seen in darkness.

– M.C. Escher

Talent and all that are really for the most part just baloney. Any schoolboy with a little aptitude can perhaps draw better than I; but what he lacks in most cases is that tenacious desire to make it reality, that obstinate gnashing of teeth and saying, “Although I know it can’t be done, I want to do it anyway.

-M.C. Escher

I don’t use drugs, my dreams are frightening enough.

                                –  M.C. Escher

MC-Escher-Hand-with-Reflecting-Sphere-1935

I think I have never yet done any work with the aim of symbolizing a particular idea, but the fact that a symbol is sometimes discovered or remarked upon is valuable for me because it makes it easier to accept the inexplicable nature of my hobbies, which constantly preoccupy me.

-M.C. Escher

Only those who attempt the absurd will achieve the impossible. I think it’s in my basement… let me go upstairs and check.

-M.C. Escher

To tell you the truth, I am rather perplexed by the concept of ‘art’. What one person considers to be ‘art’ is often not ‘art’ to another. ‘Beautiful’ and ‘ugly’ are old-fashioned concepts that are seldom applied these days; perhaps justifiably, who knows? Something repulsive, which gives you a moral hangover, and hurts your ears or eyes, may well be art. Only ‘kitsch’ is not art – we’re all agreed about that. Indeed, but what is ‘kitsch’? If only I knew!

-M.C. Escher

day-and-night escher

To have peace with this peculiar life; to accept what we do not understand; to wait calmly for what awaits us, you have to be wiser than I am.

-M.C. Escher


The other famous mathematician is Richard Buckminster Fuller living from 1895 to 1983. He is known for many things such as ‘inventing’ the geodesic dome. Buckminster Fuller kept what you would call a extensive diary called Dymaxion Chronofile. From 1915 to 1983 he wrote down everything about his life; the diary is 270 feet of collective papers.

We are called to be architects of the future, not its victims.

                                     – R. Buckminster Fuller

There is nothing in a caterpillar that tells you it’s going to be a butterfly.

geodesic dome

                                                  -R. Buckminster Fuller
Don’t fight forces, use them
 -R. Buckminster Fuller
 Everyone is born a genius, but the process of living de-geniuses them                                -R. Buckminster Fuller

You can never learn less, you can only learn more.

-R. Buckminster Fuller

I’m not a genius. I’m just a tremendous bundle of experience.
                                       -R. Buckminster Fuller
When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.
                                               -R. Buckminster Fuller
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

