The Great Had A Name

“I had a name.” Tears fall. “I had everything, yet nothing at all. I had breathe.  I had blood pumping through me. I had warmth to my skin. I had hair that would grow. I had . . . life. I had acids in my stomach to digest what I had for breakfast. I had finger and toe nails to be cut. I had a pulse. But now . . . I don’t.”

“Did someone take these . . . qualities from you?”

“No, I took them from myself.”

Tears fall.

“But I’m still able to cry. I wasn’t suppose to be able to cry.”

Stares off in the distance, then comes back to whatever reality this is.

“I was suppose to lose everything, but my name, and I was okay with that. Truly I was. But I lost my name. I was suppose to lose all the bad. But I lost . . . everything,” said shaking.

“What were you to gain?”

“Everything. I had to lose everything to gain even more. I was to gain greatness. I ask you, what is the difference between good and great? The notoriety of it. I want to be notorious.”

Tears fall.

“But can I? Am I able to anymore?”

For a lack of better words, breathes deeply, even though there is no more breathing.

“If I have no name, what will they call me when I am great? The Great one? But I am not he. The Great? Of what I ask? Who am I?” Stretching out the words.

“They will call you by your name.”

“What name is that? A name makes a person. I am no one, nothing, unless I have a name.”

“Your new name is, ‘The Great Had A Name.’ For then they will have know what you have lost and will follow you because they have lost their’s as well.”

“But they lost their’s to others. I – somehow – took mine. Will they follow me then?”

“No one has to know.”

“But I will know. I will be lying. I wasn’t suppose to be able to.”

“Just be glad you can, The Great Had A Name.”

“It has a ring to it doesn’t?”

“Go be notorious.”

Leave a Reply

